Giro d’Italia: O’Connor wins stage 17 as Almeida leads

Ban O'Connor

Ben O’Connor won stage 17 of the Giro d’Italia, as Joao Almeida held on to the leaders’ pink jersey.

The NTT Pro Cycling rider broke away from a lead group of 14 riders which had led most of the way on the mountainous 203km stage from Bassano del Grappa to Madonna di Campiglio.

Britian’s Tao Geoghegan Hart remains fourth overall after crossing the line with the leaders.

Deceuninck-Quick Step’s Almeida leads Sunweb’s Wilco Kelderman by 17 seconds.

Stage 17 result

1. Ben O’Connor (Aus/NTT Pro Cycling Team) 5hrs 50mins 59secs

2. Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut/Bahrain – McLaren) +31secs

3. Thomas De Gendt (Bel/Lotto – Soudal) +1min 10secs

4. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/CCC Team) +1min 13secs

5. Kilian Frankiny (Sui/Groupama – FDJ) +1min 55secs

6. Harm Vanhoucke (Bel/Lotto – Soudal) 2mins 49secs

7. Davide Villella (Ita/Movistar Team) 3mins 29secs

8. Oscar Rodríguez (Spa/Astana Pro Team) same time

9. Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Eri/NTT Pro Cycling Team) +3mins 30secs

10. Jesper Hansen (Den/Cofidis) +4mins 32secs


11. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) + 5mins 11secs

General classification after stage 17

1. Joao Almeida (Por/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 71hrs 41mins 18secs

2. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Sunweb) +17secs

3. Jai Hindley (Aus/Sunweb) +2mins 58secs

4. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +2mins 59secs

5. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain-McLaren) +3mins 12secs

6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +3mins 20secs

7. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) +3mins 31secs

8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/NTT Pro Cycling Team) +3mins 52secs

9. Patrick Konrad (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe) +4mins 11secs

10. Fausto Masnada (Ita/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +4mins 26secs

Articles You May Like

ODI World Cup 2023 To Begin On October 5, Final On November 19: Report
UFC’s Holm, 41, re-signs with new six-fight deal
Rhule suspends Grant for start of spring practice
Which NFL teams nailed free agency? How all 32 fared and where each could still add
Bangladesh-Ireland Second ODI Washed Out After Record Innings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *