Stuart Thompson added to Ireland ODI squad for England series


Ireland have added seamer Stuart Thompson to their expanded squad that will travel to England on Saturday ahead of their three-match ODI series.

The ECB had arranged for four Hampshire academy players – Scott Currie, Ajeet Dale, Harry Petrie and James Trodd – to join the camp to make up the numbers for Ireland’s training camp at the Ageas Bowl and for their intra-squad warm-up game on July 22.

ALSO READ: Campher, Garth the new faces in Ireland squad

But Dale has been ruled out through injury, and due to Covid-19 protocols, Hampshire were unable to provide a replacement. As a result, Thompson, who was a surprise omission from the original 21-man group, has been tested and cleared to join the squad.

Thompson’s inclusion also means that Shane Getkate is the only centrally-contracted men’s player not to be making the trip.

The squad will leave Dublin on a charter flight on Saturday, before travelling by bus to the Ageas Bowl where they will stay for two-and-a-half weeks. They will play an intra-squad practice match on July 22 and a warm-up against England Lions on July 26, after which a 14-man squad for the ODI series will be finalised.

Ireland squad for England ODIs: Mark Adair, Andy Balbirnie (captain), Curtis Campher, Peter Chase, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Jonathan Garth, Tyrone Kane, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, James McCollum, Kevin O’Brien, William Porterfield, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker, Gary Wilson, Craig Young

Articles You May Like

MLS Power Rankings: Red Bulls stay top, Philly Union No. 2
Braves lose All-Star Albies with fractured big toe
Kerr: ‘Lot of value’ in keeping Dubs’ core together
Knights’ Stone, Pietrangelo return to practice
Astros’ Javier to go on IL with neck discomfort

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *