Tour de France 2020: Caleb Ewan sprints to stage three victory


Breaking news

Caleb Ewan produced a dazzling sprint finish to win stage three of the Tour de France as Julian Alaphilippe held on to the yellow jersey.

The Australian Lotto Soudal rider timed his sprint to perfection to squeeze past Peter Sagan and snatch victory from Irishman Sam Bennett.

Frenchman Jerome Cousin had led by nearly three minutes before being swept up by the peloton with 16km to go.

Stage three saw the race travel 198km from Nice to Sisteron.

Stage three result

1. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto Soudal) 5hrs 17mins 42secs

2. Sam Bennett (Ire/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) same time

3. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita/NTT Pro)

4. Hugo Hofstetter (Fra/Israel Start-up Nation)

5. Peter Sagan (Svk/Bora-Hansgrohe)

6. Edward Theuns (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)

7. Cees Bol (Ned/Team Sunweb)

8. Matteo Trentin (Ita/CCC Team)

9. Bryan Coquard (Fra/B&B Hotels – Vital Concept)

10. Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita/Total Direct Energie)

More to follow.

Articles You May Like

Lingering questions for all 32 NHL teams as preseason begins: Goaltending, lineup, injuries
Something’s gotta give: College football’s unbeatens square off in Week 4
Theegala retains lead, Thomas surges at Fortinet
Why the NHL is playing games in Australia — and where it could go next
Twins SS Correa (foot) placed on injured list

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *