Islanders’ Lamoriello named GM of the year


EDMONTON, Alberta — Lou Lamoriello of the New York Islanders is the winner of the NHL’s Jim Gregory general manager of the year award.

The league announced Saturday night that Lamoriello finished ahead of fellow finalists Julien BriseBois of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Jim Nill of the Dallas Stars. Colorado’s Joe Sakic was fourth and Vegas’ Kelly McCrimmon fifth in voting by GMs, league executives and media members after the second round of the NHL playoffs.

Lamoriello’s Islanders are in the Eastern Conference finals thanks to several moves he made in free agency in the summer of 2019 and at the February trade deadline. He signed free-agent goaltender Semyon Varlamov and forward Derick Brassard and traded for center Jean-Gabriel Pageau and defenseman Andy Greene.

Varlamov is 10-5 with a 2.26 goals-against average and .913 save percentage in 16 starts in the playoffs. Pageau, whom Lamoriello signed to a $30 million, six-year extension as part of the agreement to acquire him from Ottawa, is tied for fifth in the postseason with eight goals.

Greene, whom Lamoriello drafted with New Jersey, has become a regular part of New York’s blue line after replacing injured defenseman Johnny Boychuk in the preliminary round. Brassard has eight points in 15 games.

“Lou has been in the game a long time,” Islanders coach Barry Trotz said. “[He] understands the person really well. It’s not necessarily can he shoot a puck, can he pass a puck. There’s the other stuff. And that’s where I think Lou’s been really exceptional at when he looks at certain people.”

Lamoriello, 77, is a first-time winner of the award that was first handed out in 2010 and this season has been renamed for Gregory, a longtime league fixture who died in October.

He’s in his second season in charge of the Islanders following three years with the Toronto Maple Leafs. Lamoriello hired Trotz fresh off the coach winning the Stanley Cup with Washington and the Capitals letting him go, then watched captain John Tavares leave for Toronto in free agency.

New York has made the playoffs — and won a round each time, unlike Tavares — each of the past two years. Trotz credits the old-school Lamoriello for helping establish a strong culture for an organization that hasn’t won the Stanley Cup since doing so four times in a row in the early 1980s.

The Islanders reached the conference final round for the first time since 1993. If they go on to win the Cup, it’ll be a fourth title for Lamoriello, who won three times with New Jersey.

Articles You May Like

India’s Goyat first int’l signee for Jake Paul’s MVP
Jets OK QB Wilson to seek trade, won’t tag Huff
Which PFL vs. Bellator champs could dethrone UFC titleholders?
Vogt eager for ‘fresh start’ managing Guardians
Injured Rust stays home as Pens begin road trip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *