O’Neil, Minoso join four in making baseball’s HOF


Buck O’Neil, a champion of Black ballplayers during a monumental, eight-decade career on and off the field, joined Gil Hodges, Minnie Minoso and three others in being elected to the baseball Hall of Fame on Sunday.

Former Minnesota Twins teammates Tony Oliva and Jim Kaat, a longtime television broadcaster after he retired, also were chosen along with Bud Fowler by a pair of veterans committees.

Oliva and Kaat are the only living new members. Dick Allen, who died last December, fell one vote shy of election.

The 16-member Early Days and Golden Days committees met separately in Orlando, Florida. The election announcement was originally scheduled to coincide with the big league winter meetings, which were nixed because of the MLB lockout.

The six newcomers will be enshrined in Cooperstown, New York, on July 24, 2022, along with any new members elected by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

First-time candidates David Ortiz and Alex Rodriguez join Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Curt Schilling on the ballot, with voting results expected to be released on Jan. 25.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Articles You May Like

Bama’s Williams, Kiper’s top WR, enters draft
As record signings stumble, De Bruyne proves priceless
Former Alabama TE Billingsley heading to Texas
Red Bull’s Dan Fallows to join Aston Martin in April
Dale Jr. on Hall: ‘Anything’ to hear dad’s words

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *